Timeshare Cancellation

image122

Timeshare Attorney

Unlike a Timeshare Exit Team, Timeshare Attorneys have the ability to use legal actions which could both cancel or terminate the timeshare debt, but also protect consumers from harassing debt collectors. 

Timeshare Exit Team

Timeshare exit teams assist timeshare owners with canceling timeshare debt. Unfortuntely, they do not have as many options as a Timeshare Attorney and thus may not be as effective as legal representation. Also, some timeshare companies will not to work with timeshare exit teams.

Timeshare Statutory Cancellation Period by State

Alaska - 15 days

  • The purchaser, before conveyance, may cancel the contract within 15 days of receipt of the POS or preliminary version of the POS
  • AS 34.08.530(11)(A); AS 32.08.580(a)

Alabama - 5 days

  • Purchaser may cancel within 5 days, not including Sunday if that is the fifth day, from the date the contract if signed by all the parties.
  • *Purchaser may also cancel the contract at any time in case the accommodations or facilities are no longer available as provided in the contract.
  • Ala Code 34-27-53

Arkansas - 5 days

  • By Purchaser any time before receipt of the POS and/or 5 days after execution of contract of sale
  • By Developer - 5 days after execution of contract of sale
  • Ark Code 18-14-409

Arizona - 7 days

California - 7 days

  • 7 calendar days, or a longer period as provided in the contract, after the receipt of the public report or the execution of the purchase contract, whichever is later.
  • Ca. Business and Professions Code § 11238

Colorado - 4 days

Connecticut - 5 days

  • A purchaser may cancel any time before midnight of the 5th calendar day after the date the purchaser signs and receives a copy of the purchase contract or receives the required time share disclosure statement, whichever is later.
  • Conn. Gen. Stat. § 42- 103pp(a)

D.C. - 15 days

  • Purchaser may cancel 15 days after the date of execution of the contract for the disposition, or within 15 days after delivery of the current POS, whichever is later.
  • D.C. Code § 42-1904.02(b)

Delaware - 5 days

  • A purchaser shall have the right to cancel a vacation time- sharing plan contract within 5 business days following the date of its execution.
  • Del. Code Titl 6, § 2824(a)

Florida - 10 days

  • A purchaser has the right to cancel the contract until midnight of the 10th calendar day following the date of execution of the timeshare purchase contract or the day on which the purchaser received the last of all documents required to be provided to him or her, whichever occurs later.
  • Fla. Stat. § 721.10

Georgia - 7 days

  • A purchaser has the right to cancel the contract until midnight of the 10th calendar day following the date of execution of the timeshare purchase contract or the day on which the purchaser received the last of all documents required to be provided to him or her, whichever occurs later.
  • In case of a right-to-use interest at any time after the facilities are no longer available for use.
  • By Developer 7 days, Sundays and holidays excepted, after the signing of any sales agreement, without penalty or obligation to either party.
  • Ga. Code Ann. § 44-3-174 (a); Ga. Code Ann. § 44-3-174 (c); Ga. Code Ann. § 44-3-174 (b)

Hawaii - 7 days

  • Either party may cancel a contract to purchase an interest in a time share plan within 7 calendar days after execution, or within 7 calendar days after the purchaser's receipt of a disclosure statement required, whichever occurs later.
  • Haw. Rev. Stat. § 514E-8

Iowa - 5 days

  • Purchaser may rescind a contract of sale any time within 5 business days following the receipt of all information required in sections 557A.11 and 557A.12 rescind
  • Developer may cancel a contract of sale 5 business days after receipt by purchaser of the disclosure materials required by law.
  • Iowa Code § 577A.14(1) & (2)

Idaho - 5 days

  • Purchaser may rescind without cause by giving notice of cancellation to the subdivider on or before 11:59 p.m. of the 5th calendar day after execution of the contract or agreement of disposition.
  • Idaho Code § 55-1804A

Illinois - 5 days

  • Purchase contract is voidable by the purchaser within 5 calendar days after the receipt of the POS or the execution of the purchase contract, whichever is later.
  • 765 ILCS 101/10-10

Indiana - 3 days

  • A purchaser has the right to cancel a time share purchase within 72 hours after the execution of the sales contract, excluding Sundays and legal holidays.
  • IC 32-32-3-7

Kansas - 3 days

  • Kansas does not have a timeshare law. Timeshare contracts are governed under Kansas state condominium laws.
  • Cancellation is governed under Kansas Consumer Protection law, which provides for the right to cancel a timeshare contract within 3 business days of executing the contract.
  • Kan. Stat. Ann. § 50-640

Kentucky - 3 days (vacation club); 5 days (timeshare)

  • Club Member may cancel a club membership by giving written notice any time before midnight of the 3rdbusiness day following the date of execution of a contract containing the notice of "Members' Right to Cancel" required by law.
  • Buyer has the right to cancel a purchase of an interest from a subdivider until midnight of the 5th business day after the day on which the buyer signs an agreement or offer to purchase.
  • Ky. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 367.397; Ky. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 367.4771

Louisiana - 7 days

  • Purchase contract is voidable by either party without penalty, within 7 calendar days after the receipt of the POS from the developer or the execution of the purchase contract, whichever is later.
  • La. Rev. Stat. §9:1131.13

Maine - 10 days

  • Purchaser or prospective purchaser may cancel a contract or conveyance of a time share by delivering written notice of cancellation within 10 calendar days after the date of any contract or conveyance or within 10 calendar days after delivery of the current written statement required by law, whichever is later.
  • 33 M.R.S. §592(3)

Maryland - 10 days

  • Purchaser shall have the right to cancel the sales contract until midnight of the 10th calendar day following whichever occurs latest: (1) The contract date; (2) The day on which the timeshare purchaser received the last of all documents required to be provided as part of the POS; or (3) The timeshare unit meets all building requirements and is ready for occupancy, unless the developer has obtained a payment and performance bond from a surety to insure completion of the project.
  • Md. Code Ann. Real Prop. § 11A-114(a)

Massachusetts - 3 days

  • Unless the purchaser has received the POS and any other disclosures in case of resales more than 3 business days before the date of execution of any contract of sale or the transfer of a timeshare, the contract or transfer shall be voidable by him until he has received said materials and for 3 business days thereafter.
  • Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 183B, § 41

Michigan - 9 days

  • Purchaser may withdraw from a signed purchase agreement without cause and without penalty before conveyance of the unit and within 9 business days after receipt of the documents required (Right to withdraw may be waived. - §599.184(5))
  • Mich. Comp. Laws § 559.184(2)

Minnesota - 5 days

  • Purchaser has an unconditional right to rescind any contract, agreement, or other evidence of indebtedness, or revoke any offer, at any time prior to or within 5 days after the date the purchaser actually receives a legible copy of the binding contract, agreement, or other evidence of indebtedness or offer and the POS.
  • Minn. Stat § 83.28

Mississippi - 7 days

  • Purchaser may cancel any purchase contract within seven (7) calendar days after receipt of the POS or after execution of the purchase contract, whichever is later.
  • MREC Rule 8.4(2)(k)

Missouri - 5 days

  • Purchaser of a timeshare plan or timeshare property has 5 days after the day of purchase to cancel the purchase.
  • Mo. Rev. Stat. § 407.620

Montana - 7 days

  • Within 7 days following receipt of a POS or signing of a timeshare purchase agreement, whichever is later, a purchaser may cancel the agreement.
  • Mont. Code Ann. § 37-53- 303

Nebraska - 3 days

  • By Purchaser the contract shall be voidable by the purchaser until he or she has received the POS and for 3 business days thereafter.
  • By Developer up to 3 business days after the receipt by the purchaser of the POS, the developer may cancel the contract of purchase without penalty to either party.
  • Neb. Rev. Stat. § 76- 1716(1) & (2)

Nevada - 5 days

  • Purchaser may cancel the contract of sale by written notice, until midnight of the 5th calendar day following the date of execution.
  • Nev. Rev. Stat. § 119A.410(1)

New Hampshire - 5 days

  • Purchaser may cancel within 5 days from the contract date of the disposition or delivery of the current POS, whichever is later.
  • N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann § 356- A:4(II) and § 356-B:50(II)

New Jersey - 7 days

  • A purchase of a timeshare interest under this act shall be voidable by the purchaser, without penalty, within 7 calendar days after the receipt of the POS or the execution of the purchase contract, whichever date is later.
  • N.J. Stat. Ann. § 45:15- 16.67

New Mexico - 7 days

New York - 7 days

  • Contracts to purchase timeshares under this offering plan may be cancelled by the purchaser within 7 business days of execution.
  • If the law of the jurisdiction in which the timeshare property is located requires a rescission period of longer than 7 business days from the date of execution of the contract, the longer period will apply.
  • 13 CRR-NY § 24.3

North Carolina - 5 days

  • The contract of sale is voidable by the purchaser for 5 days after the execution of the contract.
  • N.C. Gen. Stat. § 93A-45

Ohio - 3 days

  • The buyer has the right to cancel a home solicitation sale until midnight of the third business day after the day on which the buyer signs an agreement or offer to purchase. Cancellation is evidenced by the buyer giving written notice of cancellation to the seller at the address stated in the agreement or offer to purchase.
  • Ohio Rev. Code §1345.22

Oklahoma - 5 days

  • *Contract is voidable by the purchaser at any time unless a current POS is delivered to the purchaser at least 48 hours prior to any sale, contract to sell, or option to purchase and unless the purchaser is afforded a reasonable opportunity to examine and is permitted to retain the POS.
  • Purchaser has an unconditional right to rescind any contract or to revoke any offer, until 5 days after the date the purchaser actually receives a legible copy of the signed contract or offer and the POS. Until 5 days after a purchaser actually receives all documents, a right to rescind may be exercised.
  • Okla. Stat. tit. 71, §§ 626(A) & 643(1); Okla. Stat. tit. 71, § 643(2)

Oregon - 5 days

  • Purchaser has the right to cancel a timeshare contract within 5 calendar days from when the contract is executed. However, if no address is provided to the purchaser as to where to send their written notification to cancel a timeshare, this 5-day period begins once that information is provided.
  • Or. Rev. Stat. § 94.836(1) & (2)

Pennsylvania - 7 days

  • The purchaser, before conveyance, may cancel the contract within 7 days after first receiving the POS, unless, the POS is given to the purchaser more than 7 days before execution of a contract.
  • A purchaser, before conveyance, may cancel a contract within 7 days after receiving a copy of any amendment to the POS that would have a material and adverse effect on the rights or obligations of that purchaser.
  • 68 Pa. Stat. Ann. § 4408(c)

Puerto Rico - 7 days

  • Purchaser shall have the right to cancel his purchase contract until midnight of the seventh (7th) calendar day following the date upon which the purchaser executed such purchase contract or received the timeshare or vacation club permit, whichever occurs later. Purchaser shall also have the right to cancel his purchase contract after the rescission period has expired if the developer has not completed the accommodations which are the object of the purchase contract or of the timeshare or vacation club right which is the object thereof within eighteen (18) months of the completion date originally designated by said developer.
  • 31 L.P.R.A §1253

Rhode Island - 5 days

  • Purchaser has the right to cancel the contract until midnight of the 5th business day following of the execution date or the day on which the purchaser received the last of all documents required to be provided to him or her, whichever is later.
  • Furthermore, no closing may occur until the cancellation period of the timeshare purchaser has expired. Any attempt to hold a closing prior to the expiration of the cancellation period, is unlawful and such closing is voidable at the option of the purchaser for a period of 1 year after the expiration of the cancellation period.
  • R.I. Gen. Laws § 34-41- 4.06

South Carolina - 5 days

  • Purchaser can cancel a contract within 5 days after the date of signature or the date Purchaser receives the disclosure statement, whichever occurs later.
    *In case of right-to-use timeshares, Purchaser may cancel any time if the accommodations or facilities provided in the contract or comparable accommodations or facilities are no longer available.
  • S.C. Code Ann. § 27-32-40

South Dakota - 7 days

  • A Developer or Purchaser may cancel a contract by giving the other party written notice within 7 calendar days after execution of the contract or after the purchaser's receipt of a disclosure statement, whichever occurs later.
  • S.D. Admin. Rules 20:69:12:21

Tennessee - 10 days (by purchaser); 15 days (by purchaser who did not make on-site inspection)

  • By Purchaser - The contract is voidable by the purchaser until the purchaser has received the public offering statement. The contract is also voidable by the purchaser for 10 days from the date of the signing of the contract by the purchaser if the purchaser shall have made an on-site inspection of the timeshare project prior to the signing of the contract, and if the purchaser did not make an on-site inspection of the timeshare project prior to signing the contract, for 15 days thereafter.
  •  By Developer during the applicable rescission period, the developer may cancel the contract of purchase without penalty to either party.
  • Tenn. Code Ann. § 66-32- 114(a) & (b)

Texas - 6 days

  • A purchaser may cancel a purchase contract before the sixth day after the date the purchaser signs and receives a copy of the purchase contract or receives the required timeshare disclosure statement, whichever is later.
  • Tex. Prop. Code Ann. § 221.041

Utah - 5 days

  • Purchase contract can be cancelled by the purchaser if (i) the purchaser provides to the developer, by hand delivery or certified mail, written notice of the cancellation and (ii) the notice is delivered or postmarked no later than midnight of the 5th business day following the day on which the agreement is signed.
  • Utah Code Ann. § 57-19- 12

Vermont - 3 days

  • Consumer or any other person obligated for any part of the purchase price may cancel a home solicitation sale rd(definition includes a timeshare) until midnight of the 3 business day after the day on which the consumer has signed an agreement or offer to purchase relating to such sale, or has otherwise agreed to buy consumer goods or services from the seller.
  • Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 9 §§ 2451a(d) & 2454

Virginia - 7 days

  • Purchaser can cancel the contract until midnight of the 7thcalendar day following the execution of such contract. If the 7th calendar day falls on a Sunday or legal holiday, then the right to cancel the contract shall expire on the day immediately following that Sunday or legal holiday.
  • Va. Code Ann. § 55-376(A)

Washington - 7 days

  • A purchaser may, for 7 days following execution of an agreement to purchase a timeshare, cancel the agreement. If the purchaser does not receive the disclosure document, the agreement is voidable by the purchaser until the purchaser receives the document and for 7 days thereafter.
  • Wash. Rev. Code § 64.36.150

West Virginia - 10 days

  • Purchaser may cancel within the later of 10 days from the date the contract is signed or the date the public offering statement is received.
    *Purchaser may also cancel the contract at any time after the accommodations or facilities are no longer available as provided in this contract.
  • W. Va. Code Ann. § 36-9- 5(f)

Wisconsin - 5 days

  • Purchaser may cancel a contract for the purchase of a time share until midnight of the 5th business day after whichever of the following the date that the contract is executed or the date on which the purchaser receives the last of the documents required to be provided to the purchaser, whichever is later.
  • Wis. Stat. § 707.47(2)